A Fluttering Life

The phone buzzes,

A crying voice makes my heart heavy,

Memories flash before my eyes,

Times I saw you smile,

Times I saw you cry,

Someone who always fought for me,

Unbend, unyielding,

Yet somehow today you gave up,

Was it a mask I saw everyday? 

Hiding the war underneath,

Did my voice die away in the battle cry? 

If I screamed louder, 

Would things have been different?

The despair and guilt eat me away,

Like a vulture gnawing my heart,

The storm brews around me,

Rain and thunder inside me,

Your voice brings me back,

Finally gone crazy, I think,

But I see a white figure,

Beautiful, elegant and ephemeral,

It is you, from the heavens above,

Your kiss, a breath of life,

I feel my tensions fade away,

“You are free now from your burden”

I hear as I wake up with eyes wide open,

Now with a fire in my soul,

I walk to face the new day.

Leave a Reply

